

MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting

Thursday 12 September 2024

1. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 29 June 2023 to be considered and matters arising.

2. Correspondence

3. Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

Presentation of the Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2023.

4. Question & Answer Session

There will be an opportunity to raise questions arising from the Annual Report or other questions relating to the management and administration of the Society.

5. Proposed resolutions

A. The meeting will consider a proposal put by Michael Collinson and seconded by Shaun O'Dell that:

"The membership subscription rates for the year commencing 1 April 2025 be set at £96 per annum full rate and £76 per annum concession rate."

B. The meeting will consider a proposal put by Shaun O'Dell and seconded by Ed Bothamley that:

The executive committee be empowered to trial a promotional discount scheme of 2 years membership for the price of one year, to attract and retain new members. The scheme will be available to new members or former members who have not been a member for at least 5 years. "

C. The meeting will consider a proposal put by Shaun O'Dell and seconded by Les Marsden that:

"The Constitution be amended to insert the following new sub-clause 7 under clause K - Meetings and proceedings of the Executive Committee:

(7) A meeting of the Executive Committee may be held by suitable electronic means agreed by the Executive Committee in which each participant may communicate with all the other participants.

(i) Any member of the Executive Committee participating at a meeting by suitable electronic means agreed by the trustees in which a participant or participants may communicate with all the other participants shall qualify as being present at the meeting.

(ii) Meetings held by electronic means must comply with rules for meetings, including chairing and the taking of minutes."

6. Appointment of Executive Committee

The following valid nominations have been received, as no post has received more than a single nomination the following will be elected unopposed.

Post	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Chair	Les Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
Deputy Chair			
Secretary	Shaun O'Dell	Mick Collinson	Ed Bothamley
Treasurer	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson	Shaun O'Dell
Curator	Tony Morris	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
IT Officer	Glenn Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Phil Muffett
Librarian	Ed Bothamley	Les Marsden	Tom Wade
Fundraising Officer	Tom Wade	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson
Programme Co-ordinator	Roy Gunson	Kris Hudson-Lee	Shaun O'Dell
Observations Officer	Kris Hudson-Lee	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson
Committee Member	Paul D'Silva	Roy Gunson	Les Marsden
(3 posts available)	Phil Muffett	Les Marsden	Roy Gunson

No incomplete or invalid nominations were received.

Close