

# MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

## **Annual General Meeting Minutes**

Thursday 29 June 2023 at 1945

**Present:** Roy Gunson, Paul D'Silva, Julie Westwood, Emma Bailey, Mark Richardson, Kris Hudson-Lee, Ed Bothamley, Mick Scolan, Lawrence Horrocks-Barlow, Tony Morris, Barry Jackson, Mick Collinson, Phil Muffett, Shaun O'Dell.

**Attending Online (not voting):** Les Marsden, Mick Nicholls, Steve Taylor, Peter Lloyd, Sue Parr, Tony Hood, Andrew Kirton- Vaughan, John Leach.

#### 1. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 12 January 2023 were approved and adopted as a true account of that meeting.

#### 2. Correspondence

NatWest - new savings account.

NatWest – new savings account change of terms and conditions.

NatWest Current A/C to 5 June 2023 - £2,996.20.

NatWest Transfer A/C to 5 June 2023 - £0.00.

#### 3. Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

The Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2023 was presented.

#### 4. Question & Answer Session

No questions were raised.

#### 5. Accommodation Strategy

An update was given to members on our accommodation at Swinton Bottom Club and our search for an alternative.

LHB – are we seeking a permanent base (as we have now) or a venue to hire by the week?

PD replied: We'd prefer permanent base but realise it is a big ask, other options to be considered.

#### 6. Proposed resolutions

# The meeting considered a proposal put by Michael Collinson and seconded by Shaun O'Dell that:

"The membership subscription rates for the year commencing 1 April 2024 be set at £92 per annum full rate and £72 per annum concession rate."

LHB asked if the proposed rate was an increase to which SO replied yes, of £4 on both rates.

Mick Scollan asked given the society made a surplus last year what is justification. TM replied that we aim to cover core costs from subscriptions.

A vote was taken and the proposal was carried with 13 votes in favour and 1 Against.

### 7. Appointment of Executive Committee

The following valid nominations had been received, as no post has received more than a single nomination the following were elected unopposed.

Post Chair Deputy Chair	Nominee Les Marsden Roy Gunson	<i>Proposed</i> Roy Gunson Lawrence	Seconded Paul D'Silva Kris Hudson-Lee
		Horrocks-Barlow	
Secretary	Shaun O'Dell	Paul D'Silva	Lawrence
Treasurer	Mick Collinson	Shaun O'Dell	Horrocks-Barlow Kris Hudson-Lee
Curator	Tony Morris	Kris Hudson-Lee	Mick Collinson
IT Officer	Glenn Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Tony Morris
Librarian	Ed Bothamley	Shaun O'Dell	Kris Hudson-Lee
Fundraising Officer	Tom Wade	Shaun O'Dell	Mick Collinson
Programme Co-ordinator	Laurence	Roy Gunson	Paul D'Silva
	Horrocks-Barlow		
Observations Officer	Kris Hudson-Lee	Tony Morris	Paul D'Silva
Committee Member	Paul D'Silva	Roy Gunson	Laurence
(0 ( ")	O: T	D 0	Horrocks-Barlow
(3 posts available)	Steve Taylor	Roy Gunson	Mick Collinson
N	Phil Muffett	Tony Morris	Tom Wade

No incomplete or invalid nominations were received.

Close 20:08