

MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Thursday 29th May, 2014

Present

Les Marsden (Chair) Roy Gunson Tony Morris Shaun O'Dell (Secretary) Tony Hood Phil Muffett

Michael Waterfield (Treasurer)

Ollie Barker

Jo Botterill

Paul D'Silva

Barry Jackson

Steven Paul-Davis

Nick Reynolds

Steve Taylor

Andrew Kirton-Vaughan

Roy Wilcock

Dave Fenton Geoff Makin
Gary Gawthrope Glenn Marsden

1. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 23rd May were approved and duly signed as a true account.

2. Correspondence

A statement from NatWest has been received; the transfer account has a closing balance of £21 at 21st May 2015

3. Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

Les Marsden and Michael Waterfield presented the Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31st March 2014.

4. Proposed resolutions

The meeting considered the proposal put forward by Michael Waterfield and seconded by Shaun O'Dell that:

"The membership subscription rates for the year commencing April 1st 2015 be set at £84 per annum full rate and £64 per annum concession rate."

The proposal was agreed unanimously.

The meeting considered the proposal put forward by Alan Birch and seconded by Mike Scollan that:

"That a study, is undertaken by the committee and some of the general membership to determine the feasibility of building a meeting room extension on the J.A. Jones Hoober Observatory"

There was a brief discussion, particularly to clarify if the purpose of any extension. The proposers confirmed they did not regard any proposed extension as a replacement club room.

A vote was taken and the proposal carried with 3 abstentions and all others voting in favour.

6. Appointment of Executive Committee

The following valid nominations had been received, as no post had received more than a single nomination the following were elected unopposed.

Position	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Chair	Les Marsden	Jo Botterill	Lynford Guest
Deputy Chair	Gary Gawthrope	Les Marsden	Shaun O'Dell
Secretary	Shaun O'Dell	Les Marsden	Steve Taylor
Treasurer	Mick Waterfield	Les Marsden	Steve Taylor
Curator	Tony Morris	Shaun O'Dell	Steve Taylor
IT Officer	Glenn Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Gary Gawthrope
Librarian	Jo Botterill	Joan Launders	Les Marsden
Fundraising Officer	Paul D'Silva	Glenn Marsden	Gary Gawthrope
Programme Co-ordinator	Phil Muffett	Les Marsden	Steve Taylor
Observations Officer	Mike Hall	Trevor Worrall	Steven Paul-Davis
Committee Member	Mick Collinson	Gary Gawthrope	Steve Taylor
	Steve Taylor	Trevor Worrall	Tony Hood
	Roy Gunson	Mick Hall	Steve Taylor

Close

There being no further business to discuss the meeting was closed at 2057.