

MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting Minutes

Thursday 12 September 2024

The Annual General Meeting of Mexborough & Swinton Astronomical Society was held at St John the Baptist Church Hall, The Church Halls, Church Street, Mexborough, S64 0ER, at 19:45 on Thursday, 12 September 2024.

Present: Ed Bothamley, Mike Collinson, Simon Cook, Paul D'Silva, Roy Gunson, Anthony Hood, Kris Hudson-Lee, Glenn Marsden, Les Marsden (Chair), Tony Morris, Shaun O'Dell (Secretary), and Mike Scollan.

Attending Online: Colin Jubb, Andrew Kirton-Vaughan, Peter Lloyd, Mark Richardson, and Julie Westwood.

Apologies: Tom Wade, Laurence Horrocks-Barlow, and Mark Walton

The Secretary, Shaun O'Dell, confirmed that a quorum was present at the meeting and reminded online attendees that they could not vote at the meeting.

1. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting had been circulated to all members in advance.

It was proposed by Shaun O'Dell and seconded by Les Marsden that "The minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting held on Thursday 29 June 2023 to be accepted and adopted as a true account."

A vote was taken, and the proposal was carried unanimously.

The minutes were duly accepted and adopted as a true account of the meeting.

2. Correspondence

No correspondence had been received for consideration as all recent correspondence had been received by the trustees at the Executive Committee meeting held on 11 September 2024.

3. Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

The Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2023 was presented to the meeting having been circulated in advance of the meeting.

4. Question & Answer Session

There was an opportunity to raise questions arising from the Annual Report or other questions relating to the management and administration of the Society. No questions were raised from the floor.

5. Proposed resolutions

A. Membership Subscriptions

It was proposed by Michael Collinson and seconded by Shaun O'Dell that: "The membership subscription rates for the year commencing 1 April 2025 be set at £96 per annum full rate and £76 per annum concession rate."

A vote was taken, and the proposal was carried unanimously.

B. Membership Recruitment - Discount Scheme

It was proposed by Shaun O'Dell and seconded by Ed Bothamley that: "The executive committee be empowered to trial a promotional discount scheme of 2 years membership for the price of one year, to attract and retain new members. The scheme will be available to new members or former members who have not been a member for at least 5 years."

A vote was taken, and the proposal was carried unanimously.

C. Changes to the Society Constitution

It was proposed by Shaun O'Dell and seconded by Les Marsden that: "The Constitution be amended to insert the following new sub-clause 7 under clause K - Meetings and proceedings of the Executive Committee:

- (7) A meeting of the Executive Committee may be held by suitable electronic means agreed by the Executive Committee in which each participant may communicate with all the other participants.
 - (i) Any member of the Executive Committee participating at a meeting by suitable electronic means agreed by the trustees in which a participant or participants may communicate with all the other participants shall qualify as being present at the meeting.
 - (ii) Meetings held by electronic means must comply with rules for meetings, including chairing and the taking of minutes."

A vote was taken, and the proposal was carried unanimously.

6. Appointment of Executive Committee

The following valid nominations had been received, as no post received more than a single valid nomination the following were elected unopposed. No incomplete or invalid nominations were received.

Post	Nominee	Proposed	Seconded
Chair	Les Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
Secretary	Shaun O'Dell	Mick Collinson	Ed Bothamley
Treasurer	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson	Shaun O'Dell
Curator	Tony Morris	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
IT Officer	Glenn Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Phil Muffett
Librarian	Ed Bothamley	Les Marsden	Tom Wade
Fundraising Officer	Tom Wade	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson
Programme Co-ordinator	Roy Gunson	Kris Hudson-Lee	Shaun O'Dell
Observations Officer	Kris Hudson-Lee	Mick Collinson	Roy Gunson
Committee Member	Paul D'Silva	Roy Gunson	Les Marsden
	Phil Muffett	Les Marsden	Roy Gunson

It was noted that the post of Deputy Chair and one of three Committee members posts remain vacant. It was also noted that Laurence Horrocks-Barlow had indicated his desire to serve on general committee but had missed the nomination deadline. The incoming committee will consider co-opting Laurence in due course.

Close

There being no further business to transact the meeting closed at 20:04.