

MEXBOROUGH & SWINTON ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY

Annual General Meeting Minutes

10 March 2022 20:00				
Members Present and Voting				
Ed Bothamley	Tony Morris			
Mick Collinson	Phil Muffett			
Roy Gunson	Mick Nicholls			
Lauz Horrocks-Barlow	Shaun O'Dell (Secretary)			
Kris Hudson-Lee	Tom Wade			
Glenn Marsden	Julie Westwood			
Les Marsden (Chari)				
Members attending online (not voting)				
Sandra Cornthwaite	Andrew Kirton-Vaughan			
Paul D'Silva	John Leach			
Anthony Hood	Steve Taylor			

Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Thursday, 1 August 2019 were considered and approved as a true account of the meeting.

Correspondence

Non-Domestic Rates bill for £92.16 to cover 1 April 2022 to 31 March 2023 received from Rotherham Borough Council, passed to the Treasurer for payment.

Annual Report and Statement of Accounts

A brief summary of the Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2020 was given, the report having been previously made available to all members.

A brief summary of the Society's Annual Report and Statement of Accounts for the year ended 31 March 2021 was given, the report having been previously made available to all members.

Question & Answer

Mick Nicholls asked of the meeting room at Swinton Bottom Club would remain financially viable if the move online were to continue. The feelings of the committee were that it is important to re-establish inperson meetings now the Covid pandemic is receding and that online would be used to supplement inperson meetings and allow us access to speakers for whom travelling to speak to us would be impractical or prohibitively expensive. The meeting room will be equipped to "broadcast" meetings online and remains integral to our operations. It was also noted that the subscription model is based on in-person meetings.

Proposed resolution

The meeting considered the following resolution put forward by Michael Collinson and seconded by Shaun O'Dell: "The membership subscription rate for the year commencing 1 April 2022 be set at £88 per annum full rate and £68 per annum concession rate"

A vote was taken by a show of hands, of those present and voting, and the resolution was passed unanimously.

Appointment of Executive Committee

As no post had received more than a single nomination the following were be elected unopposed.

Position	Person Elec	Proposed	Seconded
Chair	Les Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
Deputy Chair	Roy Gunson	Shaun O'Dell	Tony Morris
Secretary	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson	Mick Collinson
Treasurer	Mick Collinson	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
Curator	Tony Morris	Roy Gunson	Shaun O'Dell
IT Officer	Glenn Marsden	Shaun O'Dell	Roy Gunson
Librarian	Ed Bothamley	Paul D'Silva	Shaun O'Dell
Programme Co-ordinator	Steve Taylor	Paul D'Silva	Roy Gunson
Committee Member	Phil Muffett	Steve Taylor	Paul D'Silva
(3 posts available)	Paul D'Silva	Mick Collinson	Shaun O'Dell
	Kris Hudson-Lee	Shaun O'Dell	Les Marsden

The posts of Observations Officer and Fundraising Officer had received no nominations, Kris Hudson-Lee has indicated he is willing to server as Observations Officer and this will be a matter for the committee at their first meeting.

Meeting closed 20:17